Can someone explain the different backs of the 500 series to me?

Submitted by Pirate on Fri, 11/14/2008 - 21:10

Hi, I'm new to the Hasselblad scene and would like to learn about the different backs for the 500 series body...  what back fits what body, what won't fit on the 500 bodies, etc.  Any details that you would care to share, or web sites that tell about the backs so I can learn would be appreciated.

Thanks,

P^)

Q.G.

Sat, 11/15/2008 - 02:35

Hello,

It's not very complicated. All backs (with the exception of very, very early ones. And of the ones made for the H-System, of course) will work fine on all 500-series bodies.

The backs are either automatic (which means there is an automatic stop when reaching frame 1 after loading a fresh film) or not (in which case you must look through a peep hole on the back of the magazine, to see when frame 1 is in position).

The automatic backs have an "A" prefixed to the type name. The non-automatic ones do not.

Some backs are called "E", instead of "A", indicating they have electronic cntacts, conveying the ISO film speed setting from back to 200-series cameras. Other backs are postfixed "TCC", indicating they not only transmit ISO data, but also have a Zone-System setting dial used by the metering electronics inside the 205 cameras.

The other part that makes up a type name is a number, usually indicating the number of frames that will fit on a roll of film. This also contains information about both the frame size and film length.

You will come across :

• "12" or "A12" backs, producing 12 frames on 120 film, in 6x6 cm format
  • "16" or "A16" backs, producing 16 frames on 120 film, sized 6x4.5 cm
  • "16S" or "A16S" backs, producing 16 frames on 120 film, sized 4x4 cm (Superslide)
  • "24" or "A24" backs, producing 24 frames on 220 film, in 6x6 cm format
  • "A32" backs (very rare), producing 32 frames on 220 film, in 6x4.5 format